Skip to content

Welcome to Angus

Angus is one of the 32 local government council areas of Scotland, a registration county and a lieutenancy area. The council area borders Aberdeenshire, Dundee City and Perth and Kinross. Angus’ main industries include agriculture and fishing.

There are seven towns in Angus: Arbroath, Brechin, Carnoustie, Forfar, Kirriemuir, Monifieth and Montrose. In the 2001 census the population of Angus was recorded as 108,400. 

Angus is known as Scotland’s Birthplace due to the signing of the Declaration of Arbroath at Arbroath Abbey in 1320. 

Explore the map below: