Skip to content

Welcome to Ayrshire

Ayrshire is a historic county in south-west Scotland, with a population of approximately 366,800. It is located on the shores of the Firth of Clyde and is a 40 minute drive from Glasgow. 

Its principal towns include Ayr, Kilmarnock and Irvine and it borders the counties of Renfrewshire and Lanarkshire to the north-east, Dumfriesshire to the south-east, and Kirkcudbrightshire and Wigtownshire to the south. Like many other counties of Scotland it currently has no administrative function, instead being sub-divided into the council areas of North Ayrshire, South Ayrshireand East Ayrshire.

Explore the map below: